entete_int_07.jpg

About us

The Grandes Rivières District Catholic School Board (CSCDGR) welcomes more than 6 elementary and secondary students daily. Our 200 elementary schools, 29 high schools and 8 alternative education centers are located in an area covering nearly 3 square kilometers, from Hearst to Temiskaming Shores, including Foleyet, Gogama and Timmins.

Map of Northeastern Ontario with location of schools in the region

Our name

When it was created in 1998, our council chose the name “Grandes Rivières” in homage to one of our great local treasures. This name was suggested by Mr. Jos Matko, a school counselor at the time. Our name reminds us of the beauty of the nature that surrounds us, which we must protect.

Our great rivers also have a lot of history! At the end of the XNUMXth century, Sieur d'Iberville traveled on the Abitibi River to reach James Bay. Also, for hundreds of years, the Voyageurs sailed the Missinaibi River, between James Bay and the Great Lakes, for the fur trade. This river is today recognized worldwide for canoe trips.

Today bordered by the majority of the cities of our beautiful region, several rivers crisscross our territory. From Calstock, in the west, to Marten River, in the east, we find:

  • Kabinakgami;
  • Mattawishquia;
  • Missinaibi;
  • Opasatika;
  • Kapuskasing;
  • Groundhog;
  • Mattagami;
  • Frederickhouse;
  • Abitibi;
  • Wabi;
  • Montreal;
  • Marten;
  • and many others.
“The CSCDGR is a francophone council, but it is also Catholic. At the time of our baptism, the priest pours water on our foreheads saying: 'I baptize you in the name of the Father, of the Son and of the Holy Spirit'. Through this sacrament, we become children of God, loved by him with limitless love. The water of our baptism and the water of the Great Rivers of northeastern Ontario flow inside our schools. They permeate all the education that is transmitted there. The Grandes Rivières District Catholic School Board has its source in the Risen Jesus, from which flows the new life communicated to us through baptism. In turn, all the students and members of the Council's staff can become, by loving others, sources of life in their community. Be proud of your school board! He has a beautiful name. Honor him. "

Our logo

The emblem of the Grandes Rivières District Catholic School Board was originally created by Mrs. Carmel Arsenault, a teacher at St. Charles Catholic School in Timmins. It was modernized in 2010 by Chabo Communications et design, a Franco-Ontarian creative agency. Our logo represents our local wealth:

  • forests
  • water
  • mines
  • agriculture
  • catholicity
  • French language
Image
Image

entete_int_02.jpg

À propos de nous

Le Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières (CSCDGR) accueille quotidiennement plus de 6 200 élèves aux niveaux élémentaire et secondaire. Nos 29 écoles élémentaires, 8 écoles secondaires et 3 centres d'éducation alternative sont situés sur un territoire couvrant tout près de 25 000 kilomètres carrés, de Hearst à Temiskaming Shores, en passant par, Foleyet, Gogama et Timmins.

Carte du territoire Nord-est de l'Ontario avec l'emplacement des écoles de la région

Notre nom

Au moment de sa création, en 1998, notre conseil a choisi le nom de « Grandes Rivières » en hommage à l'une de nos grandes richesses locales. Ce nom avait été suggéré par Monsieur Jos Matko, conseiller scolaire à l'époque. Notre nom nous rappelle la beauté de la nature qui nous entoure, qu'on se doit de protéger.

Nos grandes rivières ont aussi beaucoup d'histoire! À la fin du XVIIe siècle, le Sieur d'Iberville a voyagé sur la rivière Abitibi pour se rendre à la Baie James. Aussi, pendant des centaines d'années, les Voyageurs ont navigué sur la rivière Missinaibi, entre la Baie James et les Grands Lacs, pour faire la traite des fourrures. Cette rivière est aujourd'hui reconnue mondialement pour les excursions en canot.

Aujourd'hui bordées par la majorité des villes de notre belle région, plusieurs rivières sillonnent notre territoire. De Calstock, à l'ouest, jusqu'à Marten River, à l'est, on retrouve :

  • Kabinakgami;
  • Mattawishquia;
  • Missinaibi;
  • Opasatika;
  • Kapuskasing;
  • Groundhog;
  • Mattagami;
  • Frederickhouse;
  • Abitibi;
  • Wabi;
  • Montréal;
  • Marten;
  • et plusieurs autres.
« Le CSCDGR est un conseil francophone, mais il est aussi catholique. Au moment de notre baptême, le prêtre verse de l'eau sur notre front en disant : 'Je te baptise au nom du Père, du Fils et du Saint-Esprit'. Par ce sacrement, nous devenons enfants de Dieu, aimés par Lui d'un amour sans limites. L'eau de notre baptême et l'eau des Grandes Rivières du nord-est de l'Ontario coulent à l'intérieur de nos écoles. Elles imprègnent toute l'éducation qui y est transmise. Le Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières a sa source en Jésus ressuscité, d'où coule la vie nouvelle qui nous est communiquée par le baptême. À leur tour, tous les élèves et les membres du personnel du Conseil peuvent devenir, en aimant les autres, des sources de vie dans leur milieu. Soyez fiers de votre conseil scolaire! Il a un beau nom. Faites-lui honneur. »

Notre logo

L'emblème du Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières a originalement été créé par Madame Carmel Arsenault, enseignante à l'École catholique St-Charles de Timmins. Il a été modernisé en 2010 par Chabo Communications et design, une agence créative franco-ontarienne. Notre logo représente nos richesses locales :

  • forêts
  • eau
  • mines
  • agriculture
  • catholicité
  • langue française
Image
Image