entete_int_07.jpg

Philosophy and service model

The CSCDGR strives to provide education programs that meet the needs of all of its students. It is for this reason that educational programs and services for students with special needs are offered. Thus, each student benefits from an environment and a teaching program that promote their learning, socialization and full development.

In order to maximize student success, as well as their integration into the school and the community, the Board commits to:

  • focus on learning to be independent;
  • promote the acceptance and development of each individual, as well as equal opportunities;
  • consider the parent or guardian as a privileged partner, recognizing that no one else knows their child better;
  • promote and foster close collaboration between all partners, including the student, parents or guardians, school staff, specialists and members of the community;
  • provide and facilitate training, mentoring and support to its staff.

Intervention pyramid

Our process for helping students with special needs encourages parents to actively participate in decision-making regarding their child's educational progress. Service delivery is delivered using the Pyramid of Intervention model with the Board referral process.

Special education service delivery model

The intervention pyramid generally has three levels of intensity. The frequency and level of support increases with each tier, from tier 1 to tier 3. It is a flexible and fluid service model. An intervention, or service, can be added, modified or withdrawn according to the strengths and needs of students and teachers during the school year.

It is important for the school to align the different services it provides to students requiring enrichment, remediation and re-education. The same goes for all the interventions made with students and the services offered to them. Everyone must be aligned using the pyramid. This alignment allows:

  • coordinate services and programs;
  • evaluate and adjust services;
  • facilitate collaboration between stakeholders;
  • to intervene quickly and effectively with students.

The interventions of the school strategic team must be found in all three levels in order to prevent academic and social difficulties. In addition, the interventions of levels one, two and three carried out with the students must be the subject of continuous evaluation. This will be carried out at regular intervals, pre-established by the school strategy team. This evaluation ensures the effectiveness of interventions and the coordination of services.

Level 1: Universal level

The school strategy team works with teachers and other school stakeholders to offer universal interventions, that is, they can be addressed to all students. At this level, systematic screening targets all students. In addition, school stakeholders promote educational programs and methods validated by research.

Level 2: Targeted additional education

At this level, the School Strategy Team provides additional instruction to groups of three to six students with a common goal. This education is offered over a fixed period of six to eight weeks. Interventions are planned with the teacher in the classroom. It is important to note that the interventions are usually in addition to the teaching time. They should not replace teaching time in the classroom.

Level 3: Intensive intervention level

The school strategy team offers additional intensive interventions to students. These interventions are usually done on an individual basis, outside of the classroom. It is important to note that any student can receive intensive interventions, even if he or she does not have an intervention plan.

According to research, 80% of students in a classroom will benefit from effective and rigorous instruction. As for the other pupils, 15% of them will need special support and 5% will require intensive support. (source: Fuchs and Fuchs, 2001)

entete_int_03.jpg

Philosophie et modèle de service

Le Conseil scolaire catholique de district des Grandes Rivières s'efforce d'offrir des programmes d’enseignement qui répondent aux besoins de tous ses élèves. C'est pour cette raison que des programmes d’enseignement et des services à l'intention des élèves ayant des besoins particuliers sont offerts. Ainsi, chaque élève bénéficie d’un environnement et d’un programme d'enseignement qui favorisent son apprentissage, sa socialisation et son plein épanouissement.

Afin de maximiser la réussite de l'élève, ainsi que son intégration à l'école et à la communauté, le Conseil s'engage à :

  • miser sur l'apprentissage de l'autonomie;
  • favoriser l'acceptation et la valorisation de chacun, ainsi que l'égalité des chances;
  • considérer le parent, la tutrice ou le tuteur comme un partenaire privilégié, reconnaissant que personne d'autre ne connait mieux son enfant;
  • promouvoir et favoriser une collaboration étroite entre tous les partenaires, soit l'élève, les parents ou tuteurs, le personnel scolaire, les spécialistes et les membres de la communauté;
  • fournir et faciliter la formation, l'encadrement et le soutien à son personnel.

Pyramide d'intervention

Notre processus pour aider les élèves ayant des besoins particuliers encourage le parent à participer activement à la prise de décision concernant le cheminement scolaire de son enfant. La prestation des services est fournie selon le modèle de la pyramide d'intervention avec le processus d'aiguillage du Conseil.

Modèle de prestation de services à l'enfance en difficulté

La pyramide d’intervention compte généralement trois paliers d’intensité. La fréquence et le niveau de soutien augmentent d’un palier à l’autre, depuis le palier 1 jusqu’au palier 3. Il s'agit d'un modèle de services flexible et fluide. Une intervention, ou un service, peut être ajoutée, modifiée ou retirée selon les forces et les besoins des élèves et du personnel enseignant durant l’année scolaire.

Il est important pour l’école d'aligner les différents services qu’elle fournit aux élèves nécessitant de l’enrichissement, de la remédiation et de la rééducation. Il en va de même pour l'ensemble des interventions faites auprès des élèves et des services qui leurs sont offerts. Toutes et tous doivent être alignés à l’aide de la pyramide. Cet alignement permet :

  • de coordonner les services et les programmes;
  • d’évaluer et d’ajuster les services;
  • de faciliter la collaboration entre les intervenants;
  • d’intervenir rapidement et efficacement auprès des élèves.

Les interventions de l’équipe stratégique scolaire doivent se retrouver dans les trois paliers afin de prévenir les difficultés scolaires et sociales. De plus, les interventions des paliers un, deux et trois menées auprès des élèves doivent faire l’objet d’une évaluation continue. Celle-ci sera effectuée à des intervalles réguliers, préétablis par l’équipe stratégique scolaire. Cette évaluation assure l’efficacité des interventions et la coordination des services.

Palier 1 : Niveau universel

L’équipe stratégique scolaire collabore avec le personnel enseignant et d’autres intervenants scolaires pour proposer des interventions universelles, c'est-à-dire qu'elles peuvent s'adresser à tous les élèves. À ce niveau, un dépistage systématique vise l'ensemble des élèves. De plus, les intervenants scolaires favorisent des programmes et des méthodes pédagogiques validés par la recherche.

Palier 2 : Enseignement supplémentaire ciblé

À ce palier, l’équipe stratégique scolaire donne un enseignement supplémentaire à des groupes de trois à six élèves ayant un objectif commun. Cet enseignement est offert sur une période déterminée, de six à huit semaines. Les interventions sont planifiées avec l’enseignant en salle de classe. Il est important de noter que les interventions s’ajoutent habituellement au temps d’enseignement. Elles ne doivent pas remplacer le temps d’enseignement en salle de classe.

Palier 3 : Niveau d’intervention intensif

L’équipe stratégique scolaire offre des interventions intensives supplémentaires aux élèves. Ces interventions sont habituellement faites sur une base individuelle, en dehors de la salle de classe. Il est important de noter que tout élève peut recevoir des interventions intensives, et ce, même s’il ou elle n’a pas de plan d’intervention.

Selon une recherche, 80 % des élèves dans une salle de classe profiteront d’un enseignement efficace et rigoureux. Quant aux autres élèves, 15 % d'entre eux auront besoin d’un soutien particulier et 5 % nécessiteront un soutien intensif. (source : Fuchs et Fuchs, 2001)